top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe

Gift Guide for Our Nan's/Nana's/Nanny's!

This year I have decided I want to do a gift guide series for us all to dive into for advice and inspiration. To start this series off, since this week it has been my Nana's birthday, I have decided to start on the Nan's, Nana's and Nanny's in our lives. I hope you find some inspiration and enjoy gifting to your loved ones!


I am lucky to still have both my Nan's and celebrate their birthdays with them, my Nana's is in January and my Nan's is in April. They are both very similar in their interests but there are certain hobbies and likes which I associate both my nan's with. My Nana loves sitting with a cup of tea and a rich tea biscuit and my Nan loves her gardening. So let's jump in and start with the gift guide!


Personalised hamper!

A personalised hamper is a great gift for our nan's, who doesn't like personalised things?! I have decided to gift a personalised hamper to my Nana this year. In her hamper, I included all the items which I associate her with including, rich tea biscuits, Yorkshire tea, Ready Salted crisps, Dove products and a photo of her cat Tigs! I wanted to do something different this year rather just giving money or a voucher especially because we have just celebrated Christmas.

Meal out or Afternoon tea!

This is a gift I have done for both of my nans, as who doesn't love going out for dinner or lunch and catching up and chatting! Nan's love being treated and they will really appreciate it! Another gift is afternoon tea, I mean who's nan doesn't like a cup of tea and a slice of homemade cake! A burning question everyone asks...What do you put on a scone Jam or Cream? If you are within the Hertfordshire area I would highly recommend Rosey Lea's or Timbers!


Theatre Trip!

Now, I am sure your nan's have a favourite movie which you will find them watching over and over again. My Nana is obsessed with The Lion King at the moment. Unfortunately, my Nana doesn't like crowds and large locations in general so this idea isn't the greatest. However, if your nan is fine with outings, take her to see her favourite movie in theatre would be a lovely idea! She would be over the moon!


Photo album!

Photo albums or your nan's favourite picture in a frame is a great and personalised idea! You could put together a photo album of what your nan has achieved and done from one birthday to another. This could be a tradition you do every year. Something so simple but so thoughtful! Behind the scenes, you could create a scrapbook of her birthdays and what done to celebrate. This could be done over 5,10 or maybe 20 years. Keep it a secret and surprise her on one of her birthdays!

Flowers with a personal touch!

Come on girls, I mean who doesn't love flowers being sent on the morning of our birthdays! Again, so simple but so thoughtful, especially if you add a personal touch! Some florists allow you to add little ornaments and gems to your flowers. For example, butterflies, pearls, hearts, or diamonds. If you can think of something which relates to your nan, it won't hurt to ask the florists if they could possibly add this special touch.


Baking!

When I was younger and spent my summer holidays with my nans, I found us baking all the time. It was both great fun and great bonding time. If you did this yourself, why not bake your nan's favourite treat or bake again together on her birthday to remake memories and to spend her birthday with her. What is your nan's favourite treat or thing to bake?


Most importantly a card!

I know this seems really obvious but don't forget to buy her a card. Both of my nans love receiving cards no matter the occasion! This could either be brought from The Card Factory or Clintons or maybe you could make a personalised card on Moon-Pig or Snap-Fish. Don't forget to write a thoughtful message!


These are just my ideas which I have thought from the top of my head and doesn't mean I am telling you to do/buy any of these ideas but it is just a guideline for inspiration if you find yourself stuck! These ideas can also be used to buy for other members of your family or friends, these are just personally items I would buy for my nans.


Please let me know if you use any of these ideas and I will see you next Wednesday! Xxx


Also Happy Birthday to all the Nans, Nana's, and Nanny's!

16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page