top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe

How To Stop Worrying Over The Christmas Period!

Now, I am sure every single one of us that celebrates Christmas may at some point or another get stressed and worried about presents, making Christmas Day perfect and spending as much time with friends and family as possible but we forget to relax and enjoy the run-up to Christmas! I absolutely love Christmas, it is one of my absolute favourite times of the year but I do forget to enjoy it for myself! So, I have decided to put together some tips and tricks to ensure we all enjoy the whole of December leading up to Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day!

Christmas Bucket List!

If you follow me over on Instagram ChloeLiddiatt_xox, you will be aware that I have decided to complete a Christmas themed bucket list! At the start of December, I put together 25 things I want to achieve, do and complete in the run-up to Christmas Day! I simply did this on my phone, as a checklist and go back every day to see what I can do to ensure every day has a little hint of the Christmas spirit! These things don't have to be huge they can be little, for example, drinking a hot chocolate while watching a Christmas film or wearing a Christmas Jumper! So far, I am really pleased that I have decided to do this and I want every year to get bigger and better! Feel free to join me and let me know what you complete! Plus, if I don't complete all 25 wishes, I will carry them over to the next year, no problem!


Make a Detailed and Honest Christmas List!

During December, most of us are asked what is on "your Christmas list" and most of the time we don't even know what we want. I am now at an age where I am lucky enough to buy the things I want and need which makes it harder when people want to give gifts! If you are in the same boat as me, I like to do a little declutter of my room, for example, winter clothes, makeup, and skincare to see what could be replaced or added to my collection! This is a great way to see what things you don't use, what you don't need and what you do need! It is also a great way to make sure yourself, your friends or family will not be wasting their money, effort and time and will instead be investing in items you will love and use! Give it a go, you will be surprised at the ideas and items that you will be able to add to your Wishlist! (Its also a great way of tidying your space at the same time!)


Make Another Christmas List!

Now, when it comes to gift-giving for my family and friends, I always have to make a list to make sure I don't miss anyone but also to have a clear mind and clear idea of what and where I am spending my money. Ask your friends and family what is on their Christmas List so you get an idea of the items they would love to receive this year. Ask for a couple of ideas, so you can still keep the surprise for Christmas Day! Maybe include a budget so you aren't worrying about how much or how little you are spending on that person. For example, you could do a Secret Santa in your friendship group, stockings full of fun little stocking fillers for your partner and maybe a certain number of presents, maybe one big one and few little ones for the family that is within your budget range! Have fun, maybe even get creative! People absolutely love thoughtful presents where they know a lot of thought has gone into them!

Christmas Cards!

Around Christmas time I don't normally do Christmas cards just because there are so many people to write too and it can become overwhelming! I now just write to close family and friends but I know a lot of people, my family included who donate to charities instead of sending Christmas cards which is a fantastic idea. A lot of people now post messages on Social Media which is great for those who love using the platforms! I know both of my Nan's don't approve of messages on Social Media, what are your thoughts? Do you still write Christmas cards? If you are writing Christmas cards this year, make it different! This year I have included "Roundups" of the things myself and the person I have written to have done and achieved over the year.


Make Wrapping Different!

This is definitely something I would love to try and do this year! I personally love making things look special and have my own personal touch to them. This year I am going to try and use less paper and make gift bags tailored to the person receiving! I will be sharing my process and outcome of this over on my Instagram stories as I am yet to wrap my presents!


Make It Personal!

Again, a lot of people love receiving personalised gifts, a lot of thought has gone into making the gift. Who doesn't love their name engraved on products, it is such a special touch! There are so many ways you can now make gifts personal from, calendars, candles, mugs, dressing-growns, gift wrap and many many more! Give it a go yourself, get creative, you will certainly save money and you will absolutely love the response from the receiver on Christmas Day!


Still Stuck?

If you are still completely stuck on what to get someone for Christmas, maybe decide to leave presents and do something you can experience together in the New Year but spend Christmas Day together or the run up to Christmas doing christmassy activities you both love! This is another amazing way of saving money, doing things you both enjoy and knowing you have something to look forward to in the New Year. Me and Brother have done this over the years, we always plan a day out together for around January. We've been to Cambridge, London and Nottingham. Day experiences are another great gift you can both do together including: spa days, afternoon tea, track days and so much more! Companies who do day experiences, normally have great sales and offers!


Use Small Businesses and Unique Stores!

Christmas is a great time for individuals to get their brand or business running. If you have friends and family who have a small business on the side or as a whole, use them for your gifts this year! Not only are you helping them grow their business and supporting them but you may also find some great unique gifts which no one has ever heard of or seen before! This is a great way for the person to try new things and get a taste of the business which you purchased from! What a win-win situation!


I hope some of my tips and tricks will come in useful and will help you to avoid feeling stressed over the Christmas period. I would also love to hear if you use any of my ideas!


Merry Christmas x

15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page