top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe

Superdrug Presents Event!

From watching YouTube from around the age of 11, I have always wanted to experience influencer/blogger events first hand rather than behind the screen in the form of a vlog. From this, there have been many many times which I nearly clicked "buy" when purchasing tickets to events but have never had the confidence to go, until now. Beauty's Big Sister announced she will be the official host of the Superdrug Presents Event and I knew this was my time to get out of my comfort zone and click "buy". However, on the 17th of September, realising I NEEDED to purchase my ticket sooner rather than later, I had unknowingly (due to being at work) been chosen to receive two VIP tickets from the lovely Daisie Smith (Beauty's Big Sister). I was so overwhelmed and beyond excited. I decided to invite my mum to come along with me as a thank you!!


The tickets which I had received were for the Friday event (27th), so myself and my mum hopped on the train to Shoreditch ready to see what Superdrug had in store! I had already watched Superdrug's Instagram stories the day before, for a sneak peek and was not expecting what I had seen. It looked incredible! The event included: backdrops, props and "Instagram worthy" areas to take pictures, Superdrug's very own Beauty Studio where you were able to get your nails done (which I decided to take up), ears pierced and eyebrows threaded and tons of pop-up stands of brands including: NYX, Aussie, Simple, Revlon and many, many more giving away freebies, showcasing tutorials and new products before they were released to the public. There were also masterclasses held by different influencers and celebrities over the weekend which everyone was able to attend to learn how to fake tan correctly and tips and tricks for applying makeup and much more. Unbelievably, Superdrug also gave each individual who attended a goody bag with full-size products worth over £150!!! Unbelievable right!!


So myself and my mum on the day, went around to each brand pop-up to see what they were showcasing and had on offer. Just to name a few but NYX had their own ball-pit where you had to find a glitter ball to win a glitter face kit (perfect for Halloween and festivals), Aussie was giving people hair makeovers and did a fantastic job. Mine really needed re-curling from dropping out during the day and the lady did an amazing job! Nivea was showing individuals what their skin will look like when aging over time, very interesting but quite scary!! Lastly, Jennifer Lopez's new perfume "Promise" was being showcased before the perfume became available to shop! We were lucky enough to receive a 30ml bottle in our goody bag, along with little samples (perfect for handbags!) The perfume is stunning and is a "floral woody" scent which I completely agree with. These are to only name a few but each brand did an amazing job and was great to see some of the new products being launched and receiving first-hand advice and tutorials.


We was also lucky enough to attend a masterclass held by Daisie Smith, speaking to Branka Vorkapic who is a freelance makeup artist, hair stylist and bodypainter. In actual fact, Branka did all the makeup for the Dare Magazine (Superdrug's own magazine) including the front cover. This month's issue is based around Halloween! All the looks Branka did are all achievable to do yourself no matter your level of makeup skill. So if you get the chance, have a look at the magazine as each look is outstanding! My personal favorite is the "Halloween Cat". During the talk, Daisie asked Branka how she became a makeup artist, her first job, her favourite go-to products and what it is like to bodypaint someone!! It was so interesting to hear about bodypainting and which celebrities she has been lucky enough to work with on projects and campaigns. The conversation just simply flowed between the girls and they both did an amazing job of giving advice around makeup and the inside scoop of being a freelancer! The audience was also given the opportunity to ask Branka any burning questions they may have had. This was the only masterclass which we attended but there are many held over the weekend.


Overall, the day was incredible and fingers crossed Superdrug will do it again next year! I was able to meet Daisie Smith for the first time and I was so unbelievably happy and grateful! She is such a lovely lady just like she is online. If you have never seen one of Daisie's videos I would highly highly recommend a watch and subscribe over on YouTube! Again, a huge thank you for Superdrug for putting together the event and to Daisie for selecting and giving me the chance to experience this wonderful event. I can now say, when more events like this happen I will be clicking the "buy" button to experience much more!! (I also haven't used any of the products in the goody bag yet but once I will I can give full reviews and my honest opinion).


Thank you for reading x








64 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page