top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe

The 10 x 10 Challenge!

What is the 10 x 10 challenge you may ask? Well the challenge which I stumbled across from @hellooctober over on Youtube, is about making the most of the clothing items you have in your current wardrobe. It can be made into a small capsule wardrobe consisting of 10 clothing pieces, into 10 outfits over 10 days. This challenge is there to help you get creative when it comes to styling your outfits, making new looks from what you have and maybe even realise what pieces you are missing.


So I've decided to start with a winter edition which I started last week and will continue to do with the clothing items I've chosen over the next 10 days when suited. I personally work from home so I am normally in my PJS or comfy clothing. I have based my own 10 x 10 around my own winter basics/essentials. These will be items I can use when popping into town, going to grab some food or when I just generally need to get dressed. My 10 x 10 for Winter 2020 include:

A black pair of jeans from H&M

A midi wash pair of jeans from InTheStyle

Pleated mini skirt from New Look

A white buttoned jumper from New Look

A black turtle neck jumper from M&S

A thick knitted jumper from TopShop

A black button up dress from New Look

A belted knitted cream dress from PrettyLittleThing

A black knit maxi dress from PrettyLittleThing

A sleeveless blazer dress from ISawItFirst

You don't need to take this challenge too seriously, but here are some rules that you should bear in mind with your very own 10 x 10 wardrobe. Simply choose 10 key items which you think you could create 10 outfits with over 10 days. These items could include:

  • Tops

  • Trousers and Jeans

  • Dresses

  • Skirts

  • Jumpers

  • Shoes

  • Coats

Seeing as this is my first time giving this challenge a go, I decided not to include shoes and coats. However I have stuck to 10 core basic items which I mostly reach for during winter. Start by picking your basic items out, such as a black jumper, blue jeans and a white top. These items go with anything and can be pieced with anything. This is how I began my 10 x 10 wardrobe and decided to include throw over dresses and skirts. This challenge is about making the most of your wardrobe and making it work best for you!


There are items which aren't included in the 10 x 10 challenge which include:

  • Bags

  • Hats, Scarves and Gloves

  • Jewellery

The 10 x 10 challenge is certainly worth trying, it has helped me to quickly decide what outfits to wear each morning but also see what pieces I am missing. I am now on the look out for those items and will include them in my next 10 x 10 wardrobe. Are you wondering if this challenge is for you? Well, the challenge is available to anyone interested in changing up their items, restyling and minimising their wardrobe. This challenge is also great if you are packing items for a holiday and can only take hand luggage, looking to spend less money, want to try a capsule wardrobe or simply trying to find your own personal style.

Another point which I would like to touch on is, your 10 x 10 wardrobe doesn't have to include evening wear such as party wear or outfits for special occasions. Like I have already said, mine is only based on basic winter essentials and I will continue to do the same for each season. For me, I am using this challenge to see what pieces I can get more wear out of, make the most of the items I already have and possibly even passing on or selling items which I no longer need or want in my wardrobe.


If you are thinking of giving this challenge a go yourself, you go girl and please let me know! I would love to know what items you see as winter staples in your own wardrobe. Here are a few last takeaways to consider:

  • Don't put pressure on yourself, this is only for fun!

  • Always pick your clothing items in advance by checking the weather/climate!

  • Check what you have in your dairy over the 10 days you have chosen. Will your clothes be based around your work, evening outfits or your day to day lifestyle?

  • Try and have a mix of colours, textures and pattens which match but all the outfits will have their own unique looks.

  • Pick your most loved items first and try to add a few different items you wish to style them with. Maybe you have pieces you haven't worn yet and this is the perfect time too.

  • You can swap your pieces out at any time if you feel they aren't working with the other items you have chosen. I have personally already done this with one of my items as I felt it didn't work with the other items which I had chosen.

Of course, this challenge wasn't created by myself but I would love to use my platform to get more people giving this challenge a go. If you wish to give this challenge a go please feel free to tag me @chloeliddiatt_xox and use the following hashtags #10x10challenge #winter10x10 #spring10x10 #summer10x10 or #autumn10x10. You may find other's inspiring you and it is a great way to connect with others who may have a similar style to you!


Xx

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page